The Comedia In English

Author: Susan Paun De García
Publisher: Tamesis Books
ISBN: 9781855661691
Size: 15.59 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 2783

Download Read Online

The Comedia In English. How should a seventeenth-centry Spanish verse play be presented to a contemporary English-speaking audience?

One Week Girlfriend

Author: Monica Murphy
Publisher: Bantam
ISBN: 0988369443
Size: 50.22 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
View: 5962

Download Read Online

One Week Girlfriend. Breakout sensation Monica Murphy takes the romance genre by storm with the deeply emotional, completely addicting story of Drew and Fable. Temporary. That’s the word I’d use to describe my life right now. I’m temporarily working double shifts—at least until I can break free. I’m temporarily raising my little brother—since apparently our actual mother doesn’t give a crap about either of us. And I always end up as nothing but the temporary girlfriend—the flavor of the week for every guy who’s heard the rumor that I give it up so easily. At least Drew Callahan, college football legend and local golden boy, is upfront about it. He needs someone to play the part of his girlfriend for one week. In exchange for cash. As if that’s not weird enough, ever since he brought me into his world, nothing really makes sense. Everyone hates me. Everyone wants something from him. And yet the only thing Drew seems to want is . . . me. I don’t know what to believe anymore. Drew is sweet, sexy, and hiding way more secrets than I am. All I know is, I want to be there for him—permanently. Praise for One Week Girlfriend “A sweet and sexy read with a dash of angst. It will hook you from page one!”—Under the Covers “The author had me hooked within the opening pages. What a great debut novel by Monica Murphy! . . . All I have to say is pick up the book and be prepared for the roller coaster you are about to get on. . . . You will not want to miss this book and this author.”—Shh Moms Reading “I chose this book to be the book. The perfect book that would make the world stop for a few hours and suck me into another universe completely. The perfect book that would make my heart race and stop all at the same time. This book is that book! This book is perfect!”—The Obsessive Reader “A deep and thought provoking story . . . Be on the lookout for Monica Murphy because I’m sure you’ll be hearing more great things from her!”—Mostly YA Book Obsessed “A delicious read, hot romance, complicated characters and intense drama.”—Literary Cravings “An emotional and heartbreaking storyline . . . Monica Murphy pulls the reader in and won’t let go.”—The Reading Cafe “An amazing read! . . . [I] can’t wait to continue the emotional journey of Drew and Fable.”—A Bookish Escape From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Rest Is Noise

Author: Alex Ross
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 1429932880
Size: 19.49 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 1466

Download Read Online

The Rest Is Noise. The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

Metropolis

Author: Thomas Elsaesser
Publisher: British Film Institute
ISBN: 9781844575015
Size: 31.98 MB
Format: PDF
View: 3961

Download Read Online

Metropolis. Metropolis is a monumental work. On its release in 1925, after sixteen months' filming, it was Germany's most expensive feature film, a canvas for director Fritz Lang's increasingly extravagant ambitions. Lang, inspired by the skyline of New York, created a whole new vision of cities. One of the greatest works of science fiction, the film also tells human stories about love and family. Thomas Elsaesser explores the cultural phenomenon of Metropolis: its different versions (there is no definitive one), its changing meanings, and its role as a database of twentieth-century imagery and ideologies. In his foreword to this special edition, published to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the BFI Film Classics series, Elsaesser discusses the impact of the 27 minutes of 'lost' footage discovered in Buenos Aires in 2008, and incorporated in a restored edition, which premiered in 2010.

Voice Of The Violin

Author: Andrea Camilleri
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1440677948
Size: 24.30 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 2548

Download Read Online

Voice Of The Violin. The fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Inspector Montalbano mystery series Inspector Montalbano, praised as “a delightful creation” (USA Today), has been compared to the legendary detectives of Georges Simenon, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler. As the fourth mystery in the internationally bestselling series opens, Montalbano’s gruesome discovery of a lovely, naked young woman suffocated in her bed immediately sets him on a search for her killer. Among the suspects are her aging husband, a famous doctor; a shy admirer, now disappeared; an antiques-dealing lover from Bologna; and the victim’s friend Anna, whose charms Montalbano cannot help but appreciate... But it is a mysterious, reclusive violinist who holds the key to the murder.

Coping With Water Scarcity

Author: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Publisher: Food & Agriculture Org
ISBN: 9789251073049
Size: 71.34 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 4152

Download Read Online

Coping With Water Scarcity. "In the 20th Century, water use has increased at more than twice the rate of population growth, to the point that in many regions overall demand for water can no longer be satisfied. Agriculture uses 70 percent of global freshwater withdrawals and is probably the sector where water scarcity is most critical. Under the joint pressure of population growth and changes in dietary habits, food consumption is increasing in most regions of the world, and it is expected that by 2050 an additional 60 percent of food will be needed to satisfy global demand. Future policy decisions will increasingly need to reflect the tight linkage between water and food security, and be based on a clear understanding of opportunities and trade-offs in managing water for agricultural production. In order to guide its action in support of its member countries, FAO has recently embarked on a long-term programme on the theme "Coping with water scarcity -- the role of agriculture". Based on an expert consultation, a conceptual framework has been developed to help address the question of food security under conditions of water scarcity. This report presents the conceptual framework, reviews a series of policy and technical options, and establishes a set of principles that should serve as a basis for the development of effective food security policies in response to growing water scarcity."--Back cover.

Learning To Labor

Author: Paul Willis
Publisher:
ISBN: 9780231178952
Size: 33.93 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 3637

Download Read Online

Learning To Labor. A landmark work in sociology, cultural studies, and ethnography since its publication in 1977, Paul Willis's Learning to Labor is a provocative and troubling account of how education links culture and class in the reproduction of social hierarchy. Willis observed a working-class friendship group in an English industrial town in the West Midlands in their final years at school. These "lads" rebelled against the rules and values of the school, creating their own culture of opposition. Yet this resistance to official norms, Willis argues, prepared these students for working-class employment. Rebelling against authority made the lads experience the constraints that held them in subordinate class positions as choices of their own volition. Learning to Labor demonstrates the pervasiveness of class in lived experience. Its detailed and sympathetic ethnography emphasizes subjectivity and the role of working-class people in making their culture. Willis shows how resistance does not simply challenge the social order, but also constitutes it. The lessons of Learning to Labor apply as much to the United States as to the United Kingdom, especially the finding that education, rather than helping overcome hierarchies, can often perpetuate them, which is of renewed relevance at a time when education is trumpeted as meritocratic and a panacea for inequality.